The Complete List of Kate Atkinson Books in Order

This post may contains affiliate links. If you click and buy we may make a commission, at no additional charge to you. Please see our disclosure policy for more details.

Have you heard the name Jackson Brodie, the private investigator? You must have through the TV series ‘Case Histories.’

The show is an adaption of the book series written by famous author Kate Atkinson.

She has written many popular novels, mostly crime fiction, mystery, and historical fiction. If you want to read her books or are confused about where to start, you are in the right place.

In this article, I have provided the complete list of Kate Atkinson books in order. Have a look at the entire list in reading and publication order before diving into her books.

Who is Kate Atkinson?

Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson was born in York, England, United Kingdom in 1951. She was the daughter of a shopkeeper and studied English Literature at the University of Dundee, and in the year 1974, she obtained her Master’s degree.

During college, she got married and gave birth to her first child. Kate wanted a doctorate degree but failed the examination. Her marriage lasted two years, and she had to take several jobs after leaving the University.

Between the job hustle, she started writing short stories. Kate began writing for the women’s magazine after becoming the top writer in a Woman’s Own Short Story Competition.

Later, she also won the Ian St. James Award for one of her short stories, which was also adapted as a TV series.

Kate’s first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award. This much-needed breakthrough gave her the opportunity to write more, and eventually, her writing career soared.

Atkinson has continued to write books. Her writing is a combination of humor, wisdom, and characterizations with twists and turns to make the plot interesting.

Despite struggling between marriage, parenting, and writing, her determination and hard work gave her success as a writer.

Kate Atkinson’s Books in Order

In this section, I have shared the series title and the novels written under them in order. Have a look!

Sr. NoTitlePublication DatePrint LengthPublisherWhere to Buy
1Case HistoriesNovember 9, 2004320 pagesLittle, Brown and CompanyAmazon
2Life After LifeApril 2, 2013704 pagesReagan Arthur BooksAmazon
3Behind the Scenes at the MuseumDecember 1, 2020336 pagesPicadorAmazon
4Not the End of the WorldDecember 1, 2003244 pagesLittle, BrownAmazon

Jackson Brodie Books Reading and Publication Order

Jackson Brodie is a popular series written by Kate Atkinson. Originally from Yorkshire, he was a former soldier and policeman and now is a private investigator. At present, he earns his living by investigating infidelity and missing cat cases.

Jackson is a tough guy who cannot resist when it comes to rescuing or helping lost and dysfunctional people. The series explores various cases the protagonist solves.

There are 5 books under the series title, and the 6th part will be released in 2024. All the books can be read as standalones; however, they can be best enjoyed if read in publication order.

I have listed the books along with a brief description of the first one. Check it out!

Start With: Case Histories

Case Histories
View on Amazon

Case Histories is the first book of the series. The story introduces us to Jackson Brodie, where we learn about his rough past life. He was an army officer, then became a police officer, and now is a private investigator.

In this book, he has a total of three cases to solve:

  • A little girl has been missing since the night before
  • A young employee suffers a maniac’s attack
  • A new mother is frustrated with her needy baby and husband – the situation results in a bloody escape

As Jackson Brodie starts investigating the cases, surprising revelations and connections emerge. Will Jackson be able to uncover these mysteries?

Todd Family Books Reading and Publication Order

This series is about the Todd family, where we learn about the life of two siblings and wartime situations. Kate has incredibly narrated the stories of war and life in general, conveying a deep message.

There are 2 books in the series, and they should be read in order to understand the whole series.

Start With: Life After Life

Life After Life
View on Amazon

The main protagonist of this book is Ursula Todd, who was born on a cold, snowy night to an English banker and his wife in the year 1910. But she dies before even taking her first breath due to getting strangled by her own umbilical cord.

On that same cold, snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born again and survives this time. She embarks on the journey of life only to die again and be born again until she gets to live the life she was meant for.

Ursula dies in several accidents and takes birth repeatedly in the same family.

This story is about infinite lives, second chances, and the power to save the world from its ruins. The second book explores the life of Ursula’s brother, Teddy.

Standalone Novels

Kate has also written standalone novels in the course of her writing career. So far, she has written five novels.

  1. Behind the Scenes at the Museum (1995)
  2. Human Croquet (1997)
  3. Emotionally Weird (2000)
  4. Transcription (2018)
  5. Shrines of Gaiety (2022)

Brief Description of ‘Behind the Scenes at the Museum’

Behind the Scenes at the Museum
View on Amazon

Behind the Scenes at the Museum is the first novel written by Kate Atkinson, which also won the Whitbread Book of the Year award.

The main character of the story is Ruby Lennox. The girl starts narrating her life since the moment of conception. She starts telling about her life as a Lennox, a middle-class family from York, along with narrating the post-war incidents.

She is determined to learn about her family and their secrets.

Short Stories

Along with series and standalones, Kate has also written short stories, which I’ve listed below.

  1. Not the End of the World (2002)
  2. Festive Spirits (2019)
  3. Normal Rules Don’t Apply (2023)

Brief Description of ‘Not the End of the World’

Not the End of the World
View on Amazon

This short storybook is a collection of twelve stories. Each story is a standalone except the first and the last one, which are interconnected.

The individual stories are about ordinary people living their mundane lives, but they involve some surrealistic, unexpected plot twists that take the stories forward.

Standalone Plays

Kate has written one standalone play, which I’ve mentioned below.

Out of Line Books

Out of Line is a collection of stories about women empowerment and escape written by several authors, and Kate Atkinson is one among them. Each author has written one part, and I’ve mentioned the contributing story written by Kate.


Kate Atkinson has gained the success she wished for in the writing field. Readers love her books and writing style.

I hope this article helped you understand the complete list of Kate Atkinson books in order. Now, you can easily pick the books she wrote in the correct sequence order for reading.

Which is your favorite book by Kate Atkinson? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Comment