The Complete List of Christopher Paolini Books in Order

This post may contains affiliate links. If you click and buy we may make a commission, at no additional charge to you. Please see our disclosure policy for more details.

Author Christopher Paolini mostly writes fantasy and science fiction books. His Inheritance cycle series includes dragons, elves, magic, and more.

He has written book series and non-fiction books, which I will be listing below. If you are familiar with this writer and want the complete list of Christopher Paolini books in order, this article is for you.

I have briefly described a few of the books among the lot. Scroll through to learn more about the author and his works.

Who is Christopher Paolini?

Christopher Paolini was born in 1983 in Southern California and grew up in Paradise Valley, Montana.

Christopher is an American author and screenwriter.

He used to read a lot of books and wrote short stories and poems during his childhood days. He started writing his first book in his teen years and preferred to experience the same things as his characters to understand and describe better.

Christopher researched extensively, used his imaginative skills, read many folklore, contemporary romance, and science fiction, and learned weaponry, clothing, and other customs from the Middle Ages.

And finally, after all these adventures and hard work, he wrote the first draft of his novel, Eragon, at the age of fifteen.

His family self-published the book. Later, Carl Hiaasen brought his publisher’s attention to this book, and that’s how Christopher’s first book was published by Knopf in 2003.

The book became the New York Times bestseller instantly. He has continued to write books since then.

Christopher is also recognized as the ‘youngest author of a bestselling book series’ by  Guinness World Records in 2011.

Christopher Paolini’s Books in Order

Sr. NoTitlePublication DatePrint LengthPublisherWhere to Buy
1EragonJune 25, 2003528 pagesLittle, Brown and CompanyAmazon
2To Sleep in a Sea of StarsSeptember 15, 2020880 pagesTor BooksAmazon
3‘The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm’December 31, 2018288 pagesKnopf Books for Young ReadersAmazon

Let’s discuss the book series written by Christopher. I have listed them in their reading and publication order. Have a look!

The Inheritance Cycle Books Reading and Publication Order

There are five books in the series, and it is recommended that you read them in their reading and publication order. I have listed them in order below; check it out.

  1. Eragon (2002)
  2. Eldest (2005)
  3. Brisingr (2008) 
  4. Inheritance (2011)
  5. Murtagh (2023)

Start With: Eragon

View on Amazon

This book introduces us to the fifteen-year-old boy, Eragon. One day, he finds a polished blue stone in the forest and considers himself lucky for the discovery. 

The money he will receive after selling the stone will help his family have some meat for the winter. But you can imagine his astonishment when a dragon hatchling emerges from the stone. 

Eragon now enters the world of magic, power, destiny, and danger. He has an ancient sword, a fledgling dragon, and an old storyteller for guidance. 

He must navigate the dangerous path ahead to fight the evil king and dark enemies. 

Will the teenage boy become the dragon rider and protect the kingdom?

Fractalverse Books Reading and Publication Order

Below listed are books under the series title in order.

  1. To Sleep in a Sea of Stars (2020)
  2. Fractal Noise (2023)

Start With: To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

View on Amazon

Kira Navárez finds an alien relic on an uncolonized planet during her routine survey mission. She was elated with this discovery. But soon, her fear creeps in when the ancient dust begins to shift.

With war and space travel, this book will take you on an adventurous ride where Kira will face her horrors, planets on the edge of destruction, wars will erupt, and she is the only hope to save everything.

Tales From Alagaesia Books

This is a spin-off series of the Inheritance Cycle. So far, only one book has been published under the series title. I have mentioned the book’s name, publication year, and brief description. Have a look!

  • The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm (2018)

Brief Description of ‘The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm’

View on Amazon

This book is a collection of three stories: The Fork, The Witch, and The Worm. It starts with the prologue, which narrates the incidents after Eragon leave Alagaesia to construct the island to train dragon riders and protect dragon eggs.

Then, the other three short stories are narrated; each part tells a different story in the same world.

Non-Fiction Books

Christopher has also written a non-fiction book. Look below for the book and its publication year.

  • Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia (2009)
View on Amazon


Christopher Paolini is an amazing writer whose books are loved by the audience. As readers, it is normal to get confused about the order we should follow while reading books by specific authors.

I hope this article on Christopher Paolini books in order was helpful to you. Have you read any of his books? Share your thoughts in the comments!

Leave a Comment