The Complete List of Toni Morrison Books in Order

This post may contains affiliate links. If you click and buy we may make a commission, at no additional charge to you. Please see our disclosure policy for more details.

We all have been captivated by a novel so much that we immediately crave more of the author’s books to devour. It happens to me so often.

You race to the bookstore, eager to get as many books as you can, but then the confusion strikes. Where to begin?

This is the reason I share the list of books written by particular authors so you can find the correct order and start reading.

Today, I will share the complete list of Toni Morrison’s books in order. The Pulitzer Prize winner has written many great books, so dive into this blog to grab the full list before running to the store to get more.

Who is Toni Morrison?

Pulitzer Prize winner Toni Morrison was born in Lorain, Ohio, on February 18, 1931. She was the second of four children, and her birth name was Chloe Anthony Wofford. Morrison has been an avid reader since childhood. 

Morrison completed her bachelor’s degree in English from Howard University in Washington, D.C, and later received her master’s degree in the same major from Cornell University. 

Her husband’s name is Harold Morrison, and they both have two children. After being a professor for seven years, she moved to New York to become an editor of a publishing house. 

Morrison published her first novel, The Bluest Eye, at the age of 39 and her second novel after three years, which was nominated for the National Book Award. 

The success and recognition of her books encouraged her to switch to full-time writing. She was the first black woman to win a Nobel Prize in Literature.

Morrison has written many books, including children’s and non-fiction. She also received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Barack Obama in 2012.

The talented author of the literary world died on August 5, 2019.

Toni Morrison’s Books in Order

Sr. NoTitlePublication DatePrint LengthPublisherWhere to Buy
1The Bluest EyeMay 8, 2017224 pagesVintage; Reprint edition Amazon
2RecitatifFebruary 1, 202296 pagesKnopfAmazon
3Playing in the DarkJuly 27, 199391 pagesVintageAmazon

Standalone Novels

The standalone novels written by Toni Morrison are listed below. Have a look!

  1. The Bluest Eye (1970)
  2. Sula (1973)
  3. Song of Solomon (1977)
  4. Tar Baby (1981)
  5. Beloved (1987)
  6. Jazz (1992)
  7. Paradise (1997)
  8. Love (2003)
  9. A Mercy (2008)
  10. Home (2011)
  11. God Help the Child (2014)

Brief Description of ‘The Bluest Eye’

View on Amazon

‘The Bluest Eye’ is the debut novel of Toni Morrison. 

It is set in the childhood hometown of Morrison, Lorain, Ohio. The protagonist of the novel is Pecola Breedlove, a black eleven-year-old girl. 

The girl wants her eyes to turn blue just like other American blue-eyed blond children so people will look at her and love her. Soon, Pecola’s life changes in painful and devastating ways. 

The book highlights our obsession with beauty, conformity, race, class, and gender in detail.

Short Stories/Novellas

The author has written two short stories, both I’ve listed below.

  1. Recitatif (1983)
  2. Race (2017)

Brief Description of ‘Recitatif’

View on Amazon

This is a story about two women named Twyla and Roberta, who have known each other since they were eight years old. In the St. Bonaventure shelter, they also spent four months together as roommates.

Both of them were inseparable at that time but unfortunately lost touch as they grew older. But years later, they met at a diner, a grocery store, and at a protest. 

However, they were not happy meet-ups; instead, they were always at opposite ends of every problem, often disagreeing with each other. Still, the two women cannot overlook the deep bond they shared once. 

The races of both women remain ambiguous in the book, but it is stated that one is black and one is white. Who is of which race? The novel is about race and relationships.

Non-Fiction Books in Publication Order

Here is the list of all non-fiction books written by Toni Morrison in their publication order.

  1. Playing in the Dark (1992)
  2. Race-Ing Justice, En-Gendering Power (1992)
  3. The Nobel Lecture In Literature, 1993 (1994)
  4. Conversations with Toni Morrison (1994)
  5. The Dancing Mind (1996)
  6. Birth of a Nation’hood (1997)
  7. Memoirs (1999)
  8. Remember (2004)
  9. What Moves at the Margin (2008)
  10. Burn This Book (2009)
  11. To Die for the People (2009)
  12. Please, Louise (2013)
  13. The Origin of Others (2016)
  14. The Source of Self-Regard: Selected Essays, Speeches, and Meditations (2019)
  15. Mouth Full of Blood: Essays, Speeches, Meditations (2019)
  16. Goodness and the Literary Imagination (2019)
  17. The Writer Before the Page: From The Source of Self-Regard (2019)
  18. The Measure of Our Lives (2019)

Brief Description of ‘Playing in the Dark’

View on Amazon

In this nonfiction book, Toni Morrison explores the presence of African American culture in the works of white American authors. According to Morrison, the Africanist presence is essential to comprehending American literature, even if it isn’t highlighted.

She analyzes and states how white authors grapple with themes like freedom and identity by using blackness. She emphasizes the importance of confronting these racial biases and recognizing their impact on American storytelling.

Who’s Got Game? Books Reading and Publication Order

These are some of the children’s books that Toni Morrison wrote.

  1. Who’s Got Game? The Ant or the Grasshopper? (2003)
  2. Who’s Got Game? The Lion or the Mouse? (2003)
  3. Who’s Got Game? Three Fables (2003)
  4. Who’s Got Game? Poppy or the Snake? (2004)

Chapbooks in Publication Order

Chapbooks are another set of children’s books written by the author. 

  1. The Big Box (1999)
  2. The Book of Mean People (2002)
  3. The Mirror Or The Glass? (2005)

Picture Books in Publication Order

These are a few picture books by Toni Morrison.

  1. Peeny Butter Fudge (2009)
  2. Little Cloud and Lady Wind (2010)
  3. The Tortoise or the Hare (2010)

Plays in Publication Order

Toni Morrison wrote one play, which I’ve mentioned below. 

  • Desdemona (2012)


Toni Morrison was an award-winning author who is widely recognized worldwide for her fantastic writing skills. She had a great writing journey, made her mark on the literary universe, and will always be remembered.

I hope that with the help of this article, you get the complete list of Toni Morrison books in order. Are you a Toni Morrison fan? Which book is your favorite?

Leave a Comment